Governor Murphy Signs 4 Bills Sponsored By Hudson Legislators

Governor Phil Murphy signed four pieces of legislation on Wednesday which were co-sponsored by various Hudson County legislators.

A-4299 was cosponsored by Assemblyman Pedro Mejia (D – District 32) and Assemblywoman Angela McKnight (D – District 31).  The bill appropriates funds to the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection for environmental infrastructure projects for fiscal year 2021.

A-3963 was cosponsored by Assemblyman Raj Mukherji (D – District 33).  The new law delays mandatory retirement SPRS when it would occur during a period deemed a state of emergency.  It extends eligibility for appointment as a member of the State Police and enrollment in SPRS for 160th Class of NJ State Police.

Mukherji and his 33rd District Assembly mate, Assemblywoman Annette Chaparro (D – District 33) saw the Governor sign A-3945.  This bill extends the eligibility for accidental disability and accidental death benefits to certain PERS, SPRS, and PERS members who contract COVID-19 and test positive for SARS-CoV-2.

The final piece of legislation signed into law today was cosponsored by Assemblywoman Chaparro.  A-2636 pertains to online marketing of affordable housing units.



Do you have a news-tip or want to share a story with us? Please Fill out the following form. Anonymous tips are also welcome.