HCDO Officially Introduces County Commission and District 31 Legislative Candidates

Photo Credit: Phil Swibinski

The Hudson County Democratic Organization officially unveiled the remainder of its June 6th Primary Election candidates this afternoon on the steps of the Justice William Brennan Courthouse in Jersey City.  After announcing candidates for the 31st Legislative District, which covers Bayonne and a major portion of Jersey City, as well as the nine Hudson County Commission candidates, the HCDO candidates filed their nominating petitions at the County Clerk’s Office.

Joining them in filing petitions were the previously announced HCDO candidates for County Executive, Craig Guy, and the 32nd and 33rd Legislative District candidates for New Jersey Assembly and Senate; Jessica Ramirez and John Allen for Assembly and Raj Mukherji for Senate in the 32nd, and Julio Marenco and Gabriel Rodriguez for Assembly and Brian Stack for Senate in the 33rd.

The HCDO-backed candidates in the 31st District are incumbent Assemblyman William Sampson IV and incumbent Assemblywoman Angela McKnight, who is seeking the Senate seat being vacated by long time Senator Sandra Cunningham. The newcomer to the ticket is Jersey City Municipal Democratic Chairwoman Barbara McCann Stamato.

There is only one, new Hudson County Commission candidate, as North Bergen’s Anthony Vainieri, the long time Chairman, is not seeking re-election.  He is a North Bergen Commission candidate on Mayor Nicholas Sacco’s ticket.  The 8th District candidate is North Bergen Parking Authority Executive Director Robert Baselice.

The incumbent Hudson County Commissioners seeking re-election are as follows:

  • District 1 – Kenneth Kopacz
  • District 2 – William O’Dea
  • District 3 – Jerry Walker
  • District 4 – Yraida Aponte-Lipski
  • District 5 – Anthony Romano
  • District 6 – Fanny Cedeno
  • District 7 – Caridad Rodriguez
  • District 9 – Albert Cifelli