Hoboken Council Reorganizes: Russo Named President, Jabbour Vice President

Photo Credit:  Hoboken Facebook Page                                                                                                                                                                                                     The Hoboken City Council held its 2022 reorganization meeting virtually on Wednesday night.  For the first time in his eighteen years on the Council, 3rd Ward Councilman Michael Russo has been chosen to lead the governing body as its President.

2nd Ward Councilwoman Tiffanie Fisher had nominated Councilman Jim Doyle for the Presidency.  She received no second.  President Russo is currently in his fifth term.

At Large Councilwoman Emily Jabbour, who won re-election in November to a second four year term, was named Vice President, with Councilwoman Fisher opposed, citing Jabbour’s past vote supporting pay to play.

Russo and Jabbour replace Councilman Ruben Ramos and Councilwoman Jennifer Giattino respectively in the leadership positions.