Hudson County Freeholders Approve $7.3 M For Various Recreation, Park & Historic Preservation Projects

Outdoor venues throughout Hudson County are in line for major improvements thanks to the Freeholder Board’s decision to approve millions of dollars worth of grants.

The Hudson County Board of Freeholders recently approved over $7,300,078 of Open Space Trust Grantees for numerous recreation and park improvements, and historic preservation projects throughout Hudson County.

Park and Recreation Improvement projects are as follows:

City of Bayonne– $500,000 for Russell Golding Park Phase 2

Borough of East Newark-$300,000 for East Newark Recreation Center

Town of Guttenberg– $500,000 for 127 71st Street (All Access Park)

Town of Harrison– $383,150 for Harrison Courts

City of Hoboken– $500,000 for Northwest Resiliency Park

City of Hoboken– $116,928 for Elysian Park Dog Run Development

City of Jersey City– $500,000 for Pavonia Marion Park

City of Jersey City– $500,000 for Jersey City Reservoir #3 Trail Development and Lighting

Town of Kearny– $500,000 for Harvey Field Improvements

Township of North Bergen– $500,000 for 10th Street Park Development

Town of Secaucus– $500,000 for Millridge Road Field Complex

City of Union City– $227,500 for 44th Street & Hudson Avenue Acquisition

City of Union City– $272,500 for Washington Park East, Phase 2 Improvements

Township of Weehawken– $500,000 for Weehawken South Park: lighting, fencing, landscaping

Town of West New York– $500,000 for Miller Park Improvements-Phase 2

Hudson County Division of Parks– (Bayonne) $500,000 for Stephen R. Gregg Tennis Courts Restoration

Hudson County Division of Parks– (Secaucus) $500,000 for Laurel Hill Park Playground

A press release provided by the County states, “Freeholder Chairman Anthony Vainieri and the members of the Board of Freeholders are committed to providing the necessary resources needed to assist communities to make capital improvements to recreation/parks and preserve historic sites in their towns or cities within Hudson County.”