Top: Mayor Nicholas Sacco, Mayor Richard Turner, Mayor Brian P. Stack
Bottom: Mayor Wayne Zitt, Mayor Gabriel Rodriguez and Mayor Ravi S. Bhalla


Today, a coalition of six Mayors in North Hudson, Mayor Nicholas Sacco of North Bergen, Mayor Richard Turner of Weehawken, Mayor Brian P. Stack of Union City, Mayor Wayne Zitt of Guttenberg, Mayor Gabriel Rodriguez of West New York and Mayor Ravi S. Bhalla of Hoboken, agreed to a collaborative, regional approach to a gradual re-opening of municipal parks. When all six municipalities jointly agree that it is safe to do so and the data justifies it, the eventual re-opening of parks will occur incrementally and in unison among the mayors to protect the health and safety of residents and help prevent overcrowding in any one municipality’s parks. Governor Phil Murphy has left the decision of re-opening municipal parks to local municipalities, which facilitated this agreement between the Mayors.

Below is a joint statement:

“As we consider an eventual re-opening of our municipal parks, we do so knowing that north Hudson County is perhaps the most densely populated region in the nation,” said the North Hudson Mayors. “With this in mind, it is absolutely critical for us, as mayors, to work together to ensure that any reopening of parks is driven by science and data and protects the health and safety of our residents. Acting as one collaborative group in our approach ensures that no park is unintentionally attracting additional residents of surrounding municipalities due to conflicting rules and regulations. This will allow our cities to take a cautious and deliberative approach that prevents the unintended spread of COVID-19, while promoting social distancing to the greatest extent possible. We know how difficult it has been without access to our parks and recognize the importance of getting fresh air as the weather gets nicer. While our parks remain closed until further notice, we look forward to working together to implement a gradual re-opening, when it is safe to do so, that prioritizes the health of our residents.”

All municipal and county parks in the six municipalities remain closed for the rest of this week. The six Mayors agreed that all playgrounds would remain closed until further notice and stay closed until the last stage of a park re-opening plan.


Do you have a news-tip or want to share a story with us? Please Fill out the following form. Anonymous tips are also welcome.