WNY Commissioner Cirillo Named to NJ Apportionment Commission

West New York Candidates

The New Jersey Democratic State Committee has announced its appointments to the New Jersey Apportionment Commission.  The body is tasked with redrawing the state’s 40 legislative districts following the 2020 Census. In consultation with Democratic leaders from across the state, Chairman John Currie has assembled five Democratic members of the commission that are committed to a transparent process with robust public input that ensures full and equal representation for the diverse communities that make up New Jersey. The Democratic Party in New Jersey continues to grow and strengthen its numbers and this process will ensure that all corners of our state and party are heard.

Among the five appointees is West New York Commissioner and Guttenberg Town Administrator Cosmo Cirillo.

“This Commission is tasked with an important mission — helping to create a district map that, through its elected representatives over the next ten years, looks like New Jersey,” said New Jersey Democratic State Committee Chairman John Currie. “The Commission will strive to meet the highest standards of fairness and equal representation as it crafts new legislative districts.”

“Chairman Currie has had a distinguished and successful tenure as Democratic State Committee Chairman and has demonstrated strong leadership throughout this process,” said Governor Phil Murphy. “The New Jersey Apportionment Commission is responsible for adopting a new state legislative map that should reflect the diversity and demographics of our great state. I have confidence that Chairman Currie’s appointees will approach their work with the rigor and seriousness it deserves, while demonstrating transparency, fairness, and inclusion along the way.”

“I would like to thank Governor Murphy and Chairman Currie for the faith they have bestowed upon myself and the other Democratic members of the Apportionment Commission to ensure that all New Jerseyans are fairly and accurately represented in our State Legislature,” said Democratic Chairman to the Apportionment Commission LeRoy Jones, Jr. “I look forward to working with the other members of the Commission from both parties, as well as potentially with an independently-appointed 11th member, to arrive at a legislative map that reflects our values and priorities, recognizes shared regional concerns and considerations, and ensures that minority communities get the representation they deserve.”

In addition to Cirillo’s appointment, the Democratic members of the New Jersey Apportionment Commission are, in alphabetical order:

  • LeRoy J. Jones, Jr.

  • NJ Senate President Stephen M. Sweeney

  • Gary Taffet

  • Diane T. Testa

Additionally, Chairman Currie is appointing Jones as the Chair of the Democratic members of the Apportionment Commission.

Chairman Currie is also appointing Saily M. Avelenda, Esq. as Commission Executive Director. Avelenda, who also serves as NJDSC Executive Director under Chairman John Currie, will be the first Latina in state history to serve as Executive Director to the Democratic members of the Apportionment Commission.

Initial Commission staffers are Chris Eilert and Keith Furlong. Other staff members will be announced at a later date.