Bhalla To Run Unopposed in Hoboken Election, 10 Vie For Council At Large

When Hoboken residents go to the polls on November 2 to vote for Mayor, they will find one name on the ballot…incumbent Ravi Bhalla.  Bhalla was the only person to file petitions for the office Mayor when Monday’s deadline passed.  However, ten people filed petitions for the three, At Large Council seats which will be up for grabs.

When Bhalla ran for Mayor in 2017, he was a member of the City Council who had the support of Mayor Dawn Zimmer, who chose not to seek re-election.  That race featured six candidates.  This will certainly be a much different campaign leading up to Mayor, with Bhalla concentrating on getting his three, At Large Council candidates elected.

Bhalla is the first Sikh elected Mayor in the state of New Jersey.

Current At Large Councilwoman Vanessa Falco will leave office at the end of the year to assume the new role of head of the Division of Housing in the Bhalla Administration.  So her Council seat is up for the taking.

The ten candidates for At Large Council seats are:

Running with the Mayor as #TeamBhalla are incumbent Emily Jabbour, while incumbent Jim Doyle who had initially said he would not seek office, is running for re-election.  He replaces Dini Ajmani who withdrew for personal reasons.  Joining Doyle and Jabbour on the #TeamBhalla ticket is newcomer Joe Quintero, the Vice Chairman of the Hoboken Democratic Committee.

A slate calling itself “Independently Together,” includes Cheryl Fallick, Sheila Brennan, and Paul Presinzano.   In addition, four more residents filed petitions to run independently.  Those candidates are Patricia Waiters (Patricia Waiters for Real Constituent Services); local businessman Ian Rintel (TOO MANY POLITICIANS IN POLITICS); Manuel Rivera (Manny Rivera for Hoboken); and Cindy Wiegand (Your Friendly Neighborhood Councilwoman).